Home | PH 87- on CDs | Discography

Pno, Gtr, Vox
Peter Hammill

"What if I forgot my guitar?"

1. Easy to slip away
2. Time Heals
3. Don't tell me
4. Shell
5. Faculty x
6. Nothing Comes
7. Gone ahead
8. Friday afternoon
9. Traintime
10. Undone
11. The Mercy
12. Stranger Still

"What if there were no piano?"
1. Comfortable?
2. I will find you
3. Driven
4. The Comet, the Course, the Tail
5. Shingle Song
6. Amnesiac
7. What's it worth?
8. Ship of fools
9. Slender threads
10. Happy hour
11. Stumbled
12. Central hotel
13. Modern
14. Ophelia

A curious side effect of the reunion and subsequent onward career of VdGG was that I've became particularly fired up about doing solo shows when away from the group trail.  Over a series of tours I've reconnected with songs old and new in the ultimate stripped-down format of piano and voice, guitar and voice.

This double CD, taken from concerts in Japan and the UK in 2010 is the first solo live recording since 1999's "Typical".

One CD is of Piano songs, the other guitar ones, following a matrix first laid down in the Tokyo shows. As ever, the songs are taken from the length and breadth of my career; of course, the performances have changed markedly over the years. This, though, is, I believe, as strong a statement as can be made of how I've been performing in what I consider to be something of a purple patch.

Some songs from the original setlists have been removed in order to keep the length down to around 70 minutes. In an effort to make each CD as "show" like as possible, one song runs into another, linked by applause. I hope that this adds to a feeling of intimacy with the performances.

"Typical" has now been deleted, so although some older live releases remain available
 "Pno, Gtr, Vox" will be the definitive solo statement for the foreseeable future.