Sofa Sound


The Latest News....





My apologies for the lateness of this posting but I'll be douing three shows in Tokyo in October, again by way of approaching Live Performance once more.Details are at touring

Naturally it's a tad late for anyone outside Japan to make these and in any case I think they're pretty much sold out. In any case obvioulsy when I go to Japan I'm thinking about playing for a Japanese audience.

Anyway, as and when (and if) there are other live announcements I'll do my best to post them here in good time in future.

There will be other news incoming here very shortly....

And suddenly an entire year has passed since last I posted anything here.

The VdGG tour of 2022 has been and (in a dramatic fashion) gone and since then I've been resting up and keeping my head down. I'll be putting up some explanations about that in the near future but be assured that my health is now fine (well, as fine as can be expected for a 74 year old.)

I'm writing now, though, to announce that following the ending of the Sofa Sound mail order shop we're now also closing down our mailbox. This means, of course, that there will no longer be a terrestrial address for us.

Esoteric Records have kindly agreed to receive any mail that you wish to send. They are at:

Esoteric Recordings
Cherry Red Records
Power Road Studios
114 Power Road
W4 5PY

Though to be honest email (to remains the best channel of communication.

I'll put up more of a post in the next few days, but thought I ought to let you know about this immediately, as the Mail Box will be closed in about a months' time.

As explained below, the Sofa Sound mail order shop has now closed and the official PH store has moved to

It's quite an emotional moment to say goodbye to this business, which has gone through so many mutations over the years. Perhaps in the coming days, when my equilibrium's somewhat restored, I'll write something about this, either here or over at the Journal pages - sadly neglected as they've been for a long while.

As and when there's any news to announce it will, of course, continue to be posted here.

Mille grazie, merci beaucoup, danke schön, duomo arigato and all the rest...this book is ended.

We've been running Sofa Sound as a mail order business for over forty years, from way back in pre-internet days.  The time has now come for us to stop doing so. Inevitably, Brexit has a part to play in this but there are other factors in play as well.

The official online mail order shop for my stuff will be moving over to from the 1st July. Many of you will already know that they're a super-efficient and straightforward company and they're much better placed than we are to weather the continuing bumpy ride we're currently on.

It goes without saying how much we appreciate the loyalty and enthusiasm which so many of you have shown to and for our little operation over so many years. Thank you. It's true to say that at many times in the past I wouldn't have been able to carry on making music without the support which you've given via Sofa Sound.

Time for a change, though: onward we go.

Regarding the site...
The intention here is to have a fundamentally "white paper" place from which information rather than entertainment (or information as entertainment) can be gleaned. To this end the site should be under fairly constant revision. Once again, my apologies for being negligent in this regard over the last few months.